BALLAD OF DREAMLAND

I hid my heart in a nest of roses,

Out of the sun’s way, hidden apart;

In a softer bed than the white snow’s is,

Under the roses I hid my heart.

Why should it sleep not? Why should it start,

When never a leaf of the rose tree stirred?

What made sleep flutter his wings and part?

Only the song of a secret bird.

 

In the world of dreams I have chosen my part,

To sleep for a season and hear no word

Of true love’s truth or of light love’s art,

Only the song of a secret bird.

Leave a Reply

